CompactLogix communictation problem

Kayser

I am new to using AB controls, I have a CompactLogix L23E and Im finishing a project someone else started, I had to change the IP address and the subnet mask, I went online and change the address on in the port configuration tab and pressed apply, Now I can ping the PLC but I cannot connect, or even see the processor in the RSLinx, the MS light keeps flashing red and the NS light stays red

Please help

That's probably an IP Address Conflict with something else on the network.

After you PING the module, type "ARP -A" and check the ARP table to be sure the MAC ID you have in the ARP table really matches the CompactLogix. Rockwell MAC ID's start with "00 00 BC" and the actual MAC of the controller Ethernet port should be on a sticker somewhere.

Do you have access to the serial port and an ordinary "null-modem" serial cable ? It's a straightforward operation to connection serially and use the RSLinx browse to access the Ethernet module configuration over the CompactLogix backplane.

will any null modem cable work or do have to use one of AB's cables, and if its and IP problem would the MS flash red and the NS light stay red when its just connect to a switch and im not trying to communicate with it

Any null modem cable will work. The default Channel 0 serial port communication parameters for any ControlLogix-family controller are DF1 Full Duplex, 19200 baud, 8/N/1 framing, CRC error checking.

In the case of an IP conflict, the user manual I'm looking at (ENET-UM001) says MS will be steady red and NS will flash red.

You posted the opposite, so either you posted incorrectly or something very strange is going on.

Some "switches" actually have a management feature in them so they use an IP address, so maybe the controller is conflicting with the switch itself.

What exactly are the IP Address, Subnet Mask, and Default Gateway values you set in the controller ?

the IP address is 10.96.82.30
Subnet is 255.255.255.0