New guy needs help

CFL

Hey everyone. I'm an electrician trying to learn plc's. So far I have looked over a few websites, looked at Hugh Jack's book, and watched some videos, so I am obviously very new to this. I have, however had alot of experience in troubleshooting automated machinery, but rely on the manufacturer for support.

I've only just started to learn rslogix (micro starter lite, all I can afford) but I want to connect to my micrologix 1000 to see it work. I bought a cable from plccables.com (usb-1761-cbl-pm02) but I can't seem to connect. I realise that I'm getting ahead of myself, since I haven't even read a book on the subject, but please give me some advice. It will help motivate me to actually see a program running. Thanks.

I have installed RSLogix Micro Starter Lite and RSLinx Classic Lite.

I have watched Ron's videos on youtube. I would like to attend his classes.

You have to confire Linx to communicate with your processor. You need to add a serial communication driver (DF1)to Linx.

The main reason I decided to post on here, was that when I was searching past threads for answers I learned some cables won't work properly, or require a bit more work to get them configured?

You have to confire Linx to communicate with your processor. You need to add a serial communication driver (DF1)to Linx.

That's what i'm trying. I followed others' instructions, but when I hit autoconfigure I get "failed to find error checking mode, check all cables and switch settings".

I looked up the cable part number. It looks like a USB to serial to mini-din connector. It also looks like it came with a CD. It will work different then a normal DF1 setup. Look on the CD, it should tell you what driver to use. It should also tell you how to set it up onn the configure page.

George