SLC 500 What do I need

glaverty

A friend of mine asked me if I could reprogram a SLC500 that he has. Unfortunately I have no experience with Allen Bradley but I have been looking for an opportunity to get some. Can someone tell me what I would need at a minimum as far as programming software and connection cables go so I can at least get an idea of what I might be getting myself into.

I checked out the Rockwell Automation website and they have an RSLogix 500 Starter Kit for $499. Is this all I need? Does it come with programming cables? I looked for a description on the site but couldn't find it.

RSLogix 500 Professional was a little out of my price range at $2499

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
There is an RSlogix between those, Standard, somewhere in the $1500 range.

If it is a SLC 500(brick), 5/01 or 5/02 you will need a 1747-PIC (RS-232 to DH-485 converter) or an AB PCMK card (very expensive) which also supports DH+ and devices on RIO.

If it is a SLC 5/03, 5/04, or 5/05 you will need a 1747-CP3 cable which is a 9pin d-shell female to 9pin d-shell female null modem cable, to communicate RS-232.

A 500, 5/01 or 5/02 has one port:
1. DH-485

A 5/03 has two ports:
1. RS-232(DF1 or DH-485)
2. DH-485 (same as the 500, 5/01, 5/02)

A 5/04 has two ports:
1. RS-232(DF1 or DH-485)
2. DH+ (the same as PLC 5's)

A 5/05 has two ports:
1. RS-232(DF1 or DH-485)
2. Ethernet