PLC DL05 encoder questions

ALIMARY15

Good morning to everyone!
I am new to PLC programming and for our college exam we have been asked to program a micro PLC dl05 to make a linear axis control of machine.

I am planning for this purpose to use an incremental encoder to count the number of pulses to make the axis machine go in the required position.

I would like to know how can i store the encoder resolution into the plc memory?? lets say my resolution will be 0.1 mm how to convert and store this value into a V memory location?

thanks a lot

If the encoder is providing 1 pulse every .1 mm then your math operations must take that into account. If you wish to move 5 mm then you must expect 50 pulses, multiplying the number of millimeters by 10. You can store 10 (LD K10, OUT V2000 for example) into a single V memory register for use throughout the program. Then if you resolution changes you can then change just one location.

As further information, control of an axis which may change direction usually requires a quadrature type encoder. Please read up on them and the method of attachment in the manual for the DL05.

Be sure to understand the difference between BCD and Binary storage of numbers and their associated math operations.

Good luck on your project.

If the encoder is providing 1 pulse every .1 mm then your math operations must take that into account. If you wish to move 5 mm then you must expect 50 pulses, multiplying the number of millimeters by 10. You can store 10 (LD K10, OUT V2000 for example) into a single V memory register for use throughout the program. Then if you resolution changes you can then change just one location.

As further information, control of an axis which may change direction usually requires a quadrature type encoder. Please read up on them and the method of attachment in the manual for the DL05.

Be sure to understand the difference between BCD and Binary storage of numbers and their associated math operations.