DeviceNet question

icehube

I am new to the devicenet and working on a trainer with it. I have configured it in rsentworx, but the question it how do i give it the run commands in the logic? Just kinda confused on that. I can upload the program and you can take a look if you want.thanks.

You need to be more specific about the components you are experimenting with Catalog numbers are a big help what type of platform are you working with? What devices you have connected to you Device Net Network.

I have a devicenet scanner card and a flex 40 2hp drive. It is running on a L61 processor. Here is the program i hope it helps.

I can't see a drive on the DeviceNet network in the project, but there is one under the ControlNet network.

Look in Controller Tags under "TRAINER_1:O"

I have not done DeviceNet in Logix5000, but in a SLC or PLC-5, the most common practice is to have an unconditional OTE instruction in ladder logic so that if the PLC is in run mode, the scanner is in run mode. It is the very first bit in the scanner image IIRC. So look there for comments, and if that doesn't work for you, I am sure it is easy to find in the manual.

DeviceNet doesn't automatically generate tags associated with the network nodes like EtherNet/IP and ControlNet do.

There are two intermediate steps: The DeviceNet Scanner's Scanlist configuration, and the mapping of that Scanlist data into the I/O tables of the Scanner.

You need the *.DNT file from RSNetworx to see where in the 1756-DNB's data table the connection from the PowerFlex 40 drive is mapped.

It's probably at the very beginning of the scanlist, so you could proceed as though they were, or you could go through the DeviceNet Tag Generator.