Siemens ET200S and Vision Systems

agrosse

I am fairly new at the programming world, but have begun to get a pretty solid understand of PLC's and its familiar Ladder Logic language. Anyways I have a machine that the customer wants to integrate camera's for a part checking system. I have the camera's being connected via Profinet IO and am just reaching out for help on where to begin on the programming aspect of it? I'm having a little bit of programmers block on a good starting point. I have all components set up just need to start giving them instructions. Any insight on the matter would be of great help!

Thanks

Andrew

please post the details of the camera
I am aware of the stand alone systems.
normally you train the camera and recieve digital signals back to the PLC
so you would tell the camera which part is running
what is the budget on the camera system - gives me an idea of what accuracey you seek.

The customer has called out a Dalsa BOA Smart Vision Camera w/ iNspect Vision Software.

Sequence of Operations on Machine:

1) Operator retrieves part and places in nest.
2) Part is locked in place.
3) Operator scans barcode on part to determine what version part is present.
4) Operator installs brackets into part.
5) Part verification by Dalsa Camera's.
6) Operator retrieves new barcode label from printer on machine and places on part and removes after unlocked from nest.

the camera's software is for a notebook
you train the camera to give outputs in certain conditions
there is a big learning curve for you
the PLC tells the camera to 'take' a sample
it compares and provides a return OK signal
for you to actually know what is happening your notebook or a suitable HMI needs to be present.
the actual training can be done by the PLC but to actually see the photo then as i mentionmed

there is 256MB storage for data - so not sure how many part variations are settable.

some of these cameras have an advanced excel like programming feature for OCR