Signal amplification

ddeshi2

Hi all, ,My company designs steam generators and we got a project where we have to put one of our steam generators downhole in an oil field. We need to measure the pressure and temperature of the steam generated by the steam generator and send the signal to the surface. We have decided to go with Paine electronics pressure and temperature transducer that comes with an inbuilt amplifier. Following is the link to it

http://www.paineelectronics.com/pdf/212-40-020-DS.pdf

The tool has to be placed 3000 ft deep. Even though the transducer has an inbuilt amplifier we are still not getting accurate results. I'm new to all this. I heard that they use signal repeaters or signal amplifiers so that I get the signal to the surface. But our tool is not wireless.we are using cables to connect everything downhole.Can anyone please tell me how to amplify the signal?

Thank you!!
Ding.

@ bce123

If they design something for our needs then it is gonna be very expensive and we cannot afford that. That will be our last choice. Are there any other alternatives out there in the market that can amplify the signals?

Thank you
Ding

Do they have a similar product that would provide 4-20mA signals instead of voltage signals? At that distance, an analog voltage signal is going to be a problem in any environment...

Also, please define your accuracy requirements -vs- what you're actually getting. What size of wire are you using? It could be as simple as going to a larger wire to reduce voltage drop... maybe...

And "... it is gonna be very expensive and we cannot afford that." How much is accuracy worth? How much is it worth if it DOESN'T work??

This appears to be a bit of a niche market - you ~might~ be stuck with working with them.

can you give plc type input type voltage wire size wire type or cable # do you have wiring diag. tell us more info

The tool has to be placed 3000 ft deep.

Remember that this means the signal path is 6000 ft.