New to PLC programming hope someone can help!

DKahmer

I am new to programming plcs and this is by far the most helpful site I have found online. I hope that you guys can understand what I'm asking and help me out! Or at least put me in a smarter direction.

I'm curious if there is a way I can have a timer start when a sensor is activated, that is not dependent on the sensor itself being on.

I have a motor stop when it's overheat sensor activates, it then turns on a timer so that it doesn't start up again for XX minutes. My issue is if it cools down before the XX minutes are up it stops the timer, and everything starts again. Is there a way I can have the sensor activate, start the timer, and than not turn back on until both the timer and sensor have turned off, without the timer shutting off due to the sensor turning off?

Sure, have the sensor latch an internal bit when it detects an overheat condition. Use the internal bit to enable the timer and have the timer's done bit unlatch the internal bit if the sensor has cooled down. Prevent the motor from running or starting while the internal bit is true. If you want, you can also delay enabling the timer until the sensor has cooled.

Welcome to the site
As you are trying to work this out I have a hint only for you

If you press a start button how do you keep a motor output on
that is your cryptic answer

either for PLC's or think of hard wiring

Just adding a little to what Ian has said, depending on the PLC type being used, there maybe some timer bits you can use. ie TIMER.DN or TIMER.TT

Mark.

A good question !

What you're describing is generally called "seal-in" logic. It applies to many of the elementary logic circuits used in industrial programming.

As my colleagues have described, in the ladder logic rung that starts the Cool Down Timer, you put a branch around the Overheat sensor input that starts the timer and put a contact onto that branch that represents the "Timer In Progress" status of the Timer.