Controls for new manufacturing plant - red lion or AB?

pilot-werx

Hoping you all can help me out...

I am in the process of building a new food manufacturing plant and have an opportunity to completely start over with my controls. In our current location everything has always been AB but I am tired of paying the RSLogix licence fee and dealing with DOA components.

Seeing that no panels have been built and I have not awarded the electrical contract, what are your thoughts on red lion? In addition, how about their HMIs?

I feel I have a great opportunity to try something new that may be superior to AB and wondering if it is worth the trouble of teaching this old dog some new tricks......

Any hplp would be appreciated!

Thank you,
Chris

I have no experience with Red Lion's controllers, but I like their HMIs.

How much of the work are you doing yourself and how much will you be farming out? Consider contacting the local PLC distributors and invite them in to pitch their products. Select the one that you feel most comfortable working with and that you think will best be able to support you.

I will initially be farming the entire job out. After the everything is complete I will be the person maintaing the system. I plan on automating everything from my air compressors to my process pumps.

Right now I am essentially the project manager/general contractor for the entire project and simply do have the time to do it all. I have heard great things about the HMIs but have not heard anything about their processors...

I feel your pain when it comes to license fees/headaches when it comes to AB. In my experience, however, DOA components from them are few and far between. I've never had trouble getting replacements for bad parts either.
Have you considered any other PLC/HMI manufacturers, like GE or Siemens?

Red lion Controls have a good reputation.
Their HMI's are easy to program
And they are a multi-PLC compatible
I advise most customers to consider a multi platform HMI