Basic question

partha_nayani

Hello all,
I am new to PLCs and have one question. There are many PLCs having different processors/controllers but the PLC is programmed using ladder diagram. When the ladder diagram is converted and loaded into a PLC, is it loaded in some form of an intermediate code which all PLCs understand or is it converted to specific processor/PLC? If there is a generic (intermediate) code what is this code called and how does it look like? Thank you.

Partha

there are other programing methods than ladder like statment list prety much each brand plc has its own software and a lot of brands have diff. software for diff. models

The software for PLCs generally is brand specific. And often, there are different software for different models by the same manufacturer. I'm sure when the code is converted from ladder, it is different from all others. Just because it's ladder, doesn't make it universal. Each manufacturer has his own dialect.

No.
The code in the PLC is brand specific.
The ladder you see is is merely a representation of said code.

Hello all,
Thanks a lot for your replies. So, for the same ladder the code generated for different PLCs is different. So if one writes a ladder and "compiles" it for one PLC, and the ladder needs to be compiled again if another PLC is used!! Thank you very much for clearing my doubt

Hello all,
Thanks a lot for your replies. So, for the same ladder the code generated for different PLCs is different. So if one writes a ladder and "compiles" it for one PLC, and the ladder needs to be compiled again if another PLC is used!! Thank you very much for clearing my doubt

Not only you need to compile it again, you most likely need to write it again with another programming software.

Hi TurpoUrpo,
But why should one write in another programming software? I thought all PLCs can be programmed using ladder diagrams!!! What other languages do PLCs in general support? Please enlighten me. Thanks