Timers in GE 90-30

jcp

HI friends;
I am new with GE 90-30. I used a timer TMR but i am confuse on the following.
First i tell u the rung have
1. ALW_ON bit
2. Timer (TMR,0.10s)
3.set pv=600
4. Q attached with the %M0002
how can i used its done bit,accmulated bit,and TT bit with timer name as in rslogix 5000,
is it necessary to use the output coil on timer Q bit?
at the bottom of the timer i entered %R0001 i know it consumes three registers. But i am confuse becuase i see %R0001 still increment even pass the PV value? is it working correct?
Second i stop the plc then again run and see %R0001 starts from the previous value.
Please guide me
Regards

how can i used its done bit,accmulated bit,and TT bit with timer name as in rslogix 5000, is it necessary to use the output coil on timer Q bit?
There you go again. You're trying to make a GE PLC behave like an Allen Bradley unit. They're different. Get used to it.

The first of the three %R addresses assigned to the timer is similar to the SLC's .ACC word. The second of the three %R addresses assigned to the timer is similar to the SLC's .PRE word. The coil you program at the output node of the timer function is similar to the SLC's DN bit. The TMR instruction resets to zero when the enabling logic evaluates as false. The first %R address will continue to accumulate beyond the preset value up to the maximum of 32767.

First off, using the ALW_ON bit is going to always pass power to the timer, so it will always be true. So it shouldn't come as a surprise when it times out 60 seconds later. :)

When you address a timer in a 90-30, it grabs the next two register addresses as well (which is why I us the %Rxxx1 and %Rxxx5 boundaries when addressing timers in a 90-30), but you knew about that.

When it does time out, that's when it passes power to your output coil, %M0002. So what you've created is a 60 second delay for when the PLC is first powered up.