Micrologix 1400, PF40 VFD, C600 Panelview

mikemedcalf

Hello,
I am new to plc's as i just graduated from college. I know how to do basic ladder logic but my current job had something come up that needs to be updated. I am updating a brake disc conditioning unit that made a brake disc in one of the motors in the Canadarm. This old unit is running a Servo motor and a some type of dc drive being controlled by a computer running dos.

I chose to recreate it by using a Micrologix 1400 (1766-L32BWA), a Powerflex 40 1hp drive, a C600 Panelview, and a 1hp 3 phase motor.

Now, in college the plcs were always set up for us and we just went in and programmed them to do sequential steps, but now i have to wire them and no where on the internet can i find a wiring diagram of a 1400 controlling a VFD through outputs of the plc to inputs of the VFD.

My questions are:
1. do the inputs of the PLC need their own power or do i just wire IN0 to my switch to COM0

2. same as outputs,just say i want to stop the VFD, do i wire OUT0 to terminal 1 of VFD(Stop terminal) and then DC0 to terminal 4(SRC Common) of the VFD? and tie all of my DC''s (DC1, DC2, DC3) to terminal 4 of the VFD for source common?

3. I want to set up inputs on my HMI, I know how to get into the HMI through internet browser but when i hook up my HMI through ethernet to the PLC, will the PLC just recognize all of the inputs i have made through the HMI?

I know these questions sound pretty basic but i am new and feeling kind of overwhelmed.

Thanks in advance for the help,

Mike Medcalf

I suggest that you look up the manuals for the various components you are going to use. that's the best starting point. that's how i learned it.

then develop your wiring diagram from that information.

regards,
james

Hi Mike,