Kinetix 300 consumer reports

Well, I will give you my experience so far.

The Kinetix 300 is a re-labled Lenze 940. AB had special firmware designed just for them to make the drives more just simple indexers.

I have had extensive experience with the Lenze940. When they work, they are a good value. When they don't work, it can be very costly. Generally the Lenze 940 doesn't have a lot of the filtering that higher end amps have. They do not deal well with applications that push the extremes of dyanamics, inertia mismatch, cable length, feedback resolution, and high accuracy positioning.

They also have a fairly high rate of failure, and are notorious for quirks and bugs.

Now for the Kinetix 300.
The version they are building for AB seems to be a bit more robust. We have used them on an OEM machine of my customers and have had no failures thus far.

Some quirks I don't like:

1) The motor power connector is a slip fit plug into the bottom of the drive. You have to strap it really well or the weight of the cable will cause the connections to be intermittent and cause arcing.

2) Remarkably, the have set this thing up to only accept normally open limit switches. If you want to utlize normally closed you need to run them through relays or some jerry-rig.

3) You can't define the positive direction of travel in software. Normally on most other systems you can set a bit that defines whether positive travel is CW or CCW. With these things you have to math it out and negate all your numbers if it happens to be the wrong polarity. I attempted to "out think" it and use a negative user unit scaling, but it had the last laugh.

4) Wasn't happy with the add on instructions that were developed for them in Logix5000. I ended up making my own.

5) Under certain circumstances, you can still have motor power even when the "enable" input is off.

Some things I did like:

1) Being able to have all the tags pre-assigned for the Enet communication.