s7 & Modbus

ThePortLion

Guys, I have been handed a flow meter with an RS485 interface
and asked to get it talking to a Siemens S7-317 PLC.
I happen to have a CP341 (341-1CH01-0AE0) card. I dont know
where it came from but basically I just need to know where
to start with this. I've never used modbus before so this is
new to me. I'm not looking for the solution, just any helpful
pointers to get me started.

Thanks

Hi,

A little more info would help, but i'll kick it off anyway...

Yes, you should be good with the CP341 module, but you will need to obtain the necessary software drivers to enable communication to your flow meter. This will depend on the type of configuration of your meter. If the meter is a Modbus MASTER, you'll need to set your CP341 as a SLAVE, and obviously, if it's the other way round, the opposite drivers apply.

Most i've used are RS485 2-wire, which should be fine for the Siemens card. If the meter is the MASTER then there's not too much you'll need to write code side (map required memory to READ the Modbus Data). If the CP341 needs to be the MASTER, then it's a bit more involved, and you'll need to create some sort of communication sequence to poll the various registers in the meter.

Hopefully this will help start you off...!

Regards,

Rob

There is a standard program in the S7 library which I modified and used to poll data from 6 different modbus stations.

Basically there were 12 sets of data per station being read into a temporary register and I just "Block moved" it to somewhere else. If you only have 1 flowmeter, you might not have to do this.

I think my card had a dongle plugged in the back which Siemens called "Firmware" and charged £800 for!

Last edited:
a flow meter with an RS485 interface
RS-485 is like a mule. It carries data. It doesn't pack the data, it doesn't unload the data, it doesn't care what format or set of rules (protocol) are used to transfer data, just like a mule.