RSL5000 TON Instruction help..

monet man

Good day all. I am new to using CLX/RSL5K. I was having issues with getting my own version of a self-resetting timer to work, so after doing some research. I found a great solution for my purpose(s), but I cannot figure out why/how this works. I have had pencil/paper out figuring out states on every subsequent scans of this rung, and I don't know WHY this timer is never UN-enabled...or more specifically, why do I watch this program execute, and see the XIO (.DN bit) go open, but somehow resets itself. And then the TON re-enables itself. Not asking anyone to cover every clock cycle, but if anyone knows whats going on here, please enlighten me. Thanks..oh heres the rung..

selfRESETTINGton.JPG

sorry about that..i guess i'm just an all around newb. anyhow, i'll try to give my keyboard version of the rung..

TON.DN TON
----|/|-----------| |-----

..and that's all there is to it. The preset is 2000 ~ 2sec. When my program executes, the timer counts up, the enable goes low at some point, the done bit goes high, then the enable goes high, and the dn goes low again. Hence, I have a perpetual timer, and I cannot figure out why.

sorry about that..i guess i'm just an all around newb. anyhow, i'll try to give my keyboard version of the rung..

TON.DN TON
----|/|-----------| |-----

..and that's all there is to it. The preset is 2000 ~ 2sec. When my program executes, the timer counts up, the enable goes low at some point, the done bit goes high, then the enable goes high, and the dn goes low again. Hence, I have a perpetual timer, and I cannot figure out why.
Is this rung in the Main Task or do you have it in a Periodic task?

This is basically what is happening:

At first evaluation of the rung, the .DN bit will be 0, the timer starts timing
The timer accumulated value reaches 2000ms which will set the .DN bit to 1