Thrust Loads

Hi to all,
I am a Mechatronics student, in which we are studying about thrust loads on bearings. In or text book, it gives the definition “A thrust load acts in a direction parallel to the shaft axis and opposite to the direction of force transmission”. I know this forum is for PLCs in which I have a great interest in; but in Mechatronics we study electrical, electronics (including PLCs), mechanical, pneumatics, and hydraulics. With that all said; my question is, do they mean the force pushing on the thrust load such as the weight of a robotic arm would be on a thrust bearing (thrust load) pushing up against the weight pushing down on it? I just want to make sure I understand what their definition means. Thank you all for help. Have a great day.
o_O📚

Thrust loads are normally loads applied axially to a spinning shaft.

a robotic arm (that mimics a human arm-remember that in PLC's we have robots that move every which way...)) would incur very little thust loading. Now, if you stood on the side of the robot, and attempted to push its arm into its shoulder (pushing sideways on the arm, where it attaches to the robo-shoulder)- this would incur some thrust loading- this is a bad example though. try wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thrust_bearing

Thrust bearings are used to oppose/control thrust loading.

-John

Johmster's explanation is absolutely correct, but this might help you visualize it better.