Beginner PLC and Application Questions

mike64b

Hi, so I am just getting into PLC's for a project and am looking at using the Allen Bradley 2711C PanelView C600 in combination with a Micrologix 1200 PLC.

The plan is to have the panelview be the menu for the system which allows what specific tests will be run. This is communicated with the PLC via the serial connection and the PLC will then pulse a Motor Driver in order to set the correct motor directions/speed etc.

Basically, the motor driver is a 2 axis driver, it has a few different inputs (clock, direction, speed) etc that need to be pulsed with 5v signals.

I want to make sure the PLC, using relay outputs, can supply these pulses to the driver?

Also, is what I have detailed possible with this system? I am a little confused about how to go about all of this using only ladder logic but I'm assuming its possible. I appreciate any suggestions/comments

Thanks!

No, you need transistor outputs to drive a step signal. Preferably high speed outputs (aka PTO). There is no reason you can't get an expansion card for this on the ML1200.

Wow.. well big mistake on my part. I really hope Allen Bradley will let me exchange PLC's :\

I was under the assumption relay outputs would work for both DC/AC signals so I could just supply a DC 5v and turn on/off the outputs to create a pulse generator.

I'm looking over the choices here, how do i determine if i want sink/source or fet?

Last edited:
Wow.. well big mistake on my part. I really hope Allen Bradley will let me exchange PLC's :\

I was under the assumption relay outputs would work for both DC/AC signals so I could just supply a DC 5v and turn on/off the outputs to create a pulse generator.