Micro logix help.

WHYGUMBY

I am very new to programing and have a basic knowledge of ladder logic and am in need of some guidence.
Below is the sequence of event that i am trying to get past right now.

when the operator presses a Tare pushbutton once, the HMI will show an alert over the respective Tare value, telling the operator to press the Tare button again. on the second push, the PLC will energize the respective output to Tare that reactor.

I have set up my coms assigned all inputs to bits and same for outputs.

I assume I want to use some type of counter to read when the push button is pressed 0,1,2 and relate the screen to that value by state of {TAG_NAME}.

How do I reset counter to 0 after the tear weight out put closes.

Should I even be going this route I will do this 6 times in the program.

Thank you for any help with this ahead of time.

It would help if you could post your logic and the type of hmi and program you are using

Sorry I should have mentioned I am using a micro 1100 comunicating with a red lion G310S230 touch screen. The screen
will only be a display it will be behind lexsan glass in an enclosure. The red lion will talk with the jag x scale controler via 232 and talk with the plc (micro) via ethernet.
As far as logic goes I have only assigned bits to the inputs and outputs in an I/O mapping ladder. I have tried to use a few differnt types of commands but cannot make it do what I want.

will the tare push button be a real world input? or hmi or on scale?
I have no experince with the g3 but this info will be helpfull to those that do.