Salvaging transformers from Modicon power supplies

OkieJohn

I have Modicon ASP 484-600 and AS-P800-003 power supplies that are used and surplus. I also have a residential central heat and air unit that has a burned up transformer (primary 120vac and secondary 24vdc 40va). Can I cannibalize anything from the Modicon power supplies that can be adapted to the CHA unit? I am not an electrician but I learn quickly. I have already learned what happens when you get the wires mixed up on a transformer. I know the correct answer it to call someone that knows what they are doing, but I can’t afford it right now and winter is approaching.

Welcome to the Forum!

I don't have a Modicon around to check, but I doubt it. Also, the Secondary of a Transformer is most definitely not 24VDC, it will be 24VAC. It is not clear to me what a CHA Unit is, but I presume from the context, that it is some kind of Heating Unit. If it is an Electronic Control Card for a Furnace or something similar, these are not user repairable units, even the factory doesn't repair them. If it is an external Transformer, you might be able to match it with something from Radio Shack. Based on you knowledge level, I would NOT recommend it. Get a professional in to look at it.

Stu....

I have Modicon ASP 484-600 and AS-P800-003 power supplies that are used and surplus. I also have a residential central heat and air unit that has a burned up transformer (primary 120vac and secondary 24vdc 40va). Can I cannibalize anything from the Modicon power supplies that can be adapted to the CHA unit? I am not an electrician but I learn quickly. I have already learned what happens when you get the wires mixed up on a transformer. I know the correct answer it to call someone that knows what they are doing, but I can’t afford it right now and winter is approaching.