Control Logix Naming Convention

benaiahhenry

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi Everyone,

I am new to PLC programming and am working on my first project. I am using RSLogix 5000 and my question has to do with tags. Is there some standard for tag naming conventions? Or some system that you have found to work well? Or does RA have a standard they recommend?

I've enjoyed reading this forum over the last couple months and have already learned much from you all!

Thanks,

Benaiah

The standard for naming tags is really that there is no standard for naming tags. You can use absolutely anything you want.

I like to try to make them mean something. Just as with the other Allen-Bradley PLC's, the program documentation does not live in the PLC itself, but rather in some PC with the (original) file. However, the tag names DO live in the PLC.

If you've intentionally named your tag something that makes sense in your system and you've lost the documentation, you're program is still at least "semi-documented".

A good method is to use place them together.

Eg on a system with 2 valves...

Valve_1.opened
Valve_1.closed
Valve_1.fault etc

Valve_2.opened
Valve_2.closed
Valve_2.fault etc.

Doing this allows related tags to sit together and you only have to expand that tree if you need too.

Adding to my previous post.

To save time creating tags you can create a user defined data type.

This will allow you to create it once for say valve 1 and use it on valve 2.

as already pointed out, use what ever you want.
BUT !!
use a nameing convention that makes since, not only to you, but others as well.

over the years (20+) i have learned one main thing in regards to programming, a machine made of pure gold, with diamonds, pearls, and emeralds and cost billions isn't worth 10 cents if