modbus and allen bradley 1756-L63 processors

freesharo

Hello Guys
i have recently been asked to look at a job,consisting of modbus and 5 allen bradley PLC's and around 30 racks

i have been told that the plc's are totally overloaded

controlnet is being used also,i wonder if you could give me some pointers on what to look for in regard to overloading/loading

my first thought is that too complicated code could be slowing down the processors,i am not a programmer but instrument guy,so i will be concentrating on the cabling etc

i would welcome your advice

That processor is a beast. Hard to believe it getting overloaded.
Where does the "modbus" in your title heading fit into the equation?
Are we talking Modbus ASCII or RTU? Serial or Ethernet?
When you say "overloaded" exactly what does that mean? What are the symptoms? Is it the controller that is bogged down, or just the network?

Please descirbe more about your system (hardware & topology) and your application.

You need to push on the guys who are saying the controllers are "overloaded" for exactly what they mean.

They might mean that the networks don't have a lot of available bandwidth and that messaging is going more slowly than they'd like.

They might mean that the controller programs are large or complex and that the programs are not scanning as fast as they'd like.

They might mean that the Modbus data doesn't update as fast as they'd like.

There's a nice utility called the Logix 5000 Task Monitor that can give you CPU Utilization numbers for the ControlNet modules and the CPUs. Those might help your discussion with the customer.

But don't go running down that road without a good idea of what the complaints from the user really are.

thanks Damian and ken

Modbus ethernet,i am waiting to receive more drawings but as it is my first time workign with allen bradley

"They might mean that the networks don't have a lot of available bandwidth and that messaging is going more slowly than they'd like."