GE Fanuc 90-30 / Ladder Diagram -(new guy question)

nycha

Hello Everyone - I'm new to the PLC world and was recently asked to obtain ladder diagram software for a GE Fanuc 90-30. The organization that I work for would like to take the ladder diagrams as they exists today from one PLC device and put them onto another, but not sure what I need or how. Any advice on the type of software that I will need to use or reference documents, manuals or books that can help us figure this out would be appreciated. I believe that the PLCs we have contain LogicMaster files (would that make sense?)

Thanks for any help or advice you can provide.

Steve

Thanks Stu. I've been to the ge-ip.com site and spoke to reps there. I even have a sales quote from them. What I'm unclear of is whether I would need to get a copy of both LogicMaster and Machine Edition Standard or would just one of them suffice.
-Do you know if their is a trial version of either of these that I can test out before I make the plunge.
-Is their a way to check the file type / version of the ladder diagrams that are sitting within the GE Fanuc device?
-Any good how-to manuals you would recommend?

Steve

Steve, If you are going from one GEIP platform (90-30) to another, you should be able to get a GEIP sales guy or Application Engineer in there to extract the info for you. There is one big issue with "sucking out" the existing program; all you are going to get is the Ladder code. No names, descriptions or rung comments. Those could not be stored in a 90-30. Is there anyway to get a copy of the program from the OEM?

If you can post what CPU is in the machine and relative age, I may can give you an idea of what to look for.

Since you are in the US, I may can help a little more. PM me with your contact info and I could touch base with you on Monday.

Ricky