Writing to PLC - AB SLC505 help me... PLEASE

not124get

Hello,

First, let me start by letting you know that i am not a PLC programmer, nor am i a PLC user, in fact the first time i even heard of their existence was 1 week ago...

However, I am a developer and in desperate need of help. I am running with Allen Bradley SLC-505 and RSLinx lite (but i have the authority to buy a larger package which i think i will have to do given that i have 22 PLCs that i need to see)

I need to write 1 integer and 1 float to a memory location on the PLC, the PLC's IP is static and i can have whatever memory block(s) address I want (so says the PLC technician). I have been reading almost every topic that is in this forum and I believe i can write to the address block using Excel macros.

So before i begin the what seems to be an ugly ugly learning experience...:
1) is there an easier way for me to write those two pieces of information to the PLC?

2) is there any piece of information that you think would be critical for me to read and understand?

Thank you all in advance for any guidance, wisdom, and information you could provide,

Matt

What you need is a license for RSLinx OEM or RSLinx Professional. Both of those licensed versions of RSLinx support DDE connections to other Microsoft programs, including Excel.

For each SLC-5/05 you need to access, you will configure a DDE Topic inside RSLinx. That DDE Topic becomes your reference point and method for reads and writes to the controller from Excel, VB, or any other DDE-capable application.

What environment do you "develop" in ? It's entirely possible that another 3rd party ActiveX or similar component is available to accomplish what you need to do. Maybe you're familiar with OPC, and can use that method to communicate between your application and the SLC-5/05 controllers.

Thanks for the quick reply,