EthernetIP and Compactlogix with third party I/O

markw

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi Guys

I am currently trying to test an EthernetIP to Modbus gateway from IPCDAS GW- 7472 with a compactlogix L32E 5332R with FW 1.15 (RSLogix 5000 V17).

I’m a novice user of Compactlogix but am familiar with DeviceNet setup but not EIP.

I am trying to use the L32E inbuilt Ethernet port to read the modbus data from the GW-7472 but I’m not sure how to setup things in the Compactlogix.

I do see both the Compactlogix and GW-7472 in RSLinx on the Ethernet network.

I have started by adding a generic Ethernet interface but again I’m not sure if I can use the L32E as an EIP scanner.

Does anybody have an examples of how to read from third-party EIP i/o with a Compactlogix L32E.

Many thanks
Mark

From what I've read of their user manual, there's enough information in there about the Assembly Objects and how they work to configure and use the module with ControlLogix/CompactLogix.

What ICP-DAS should provide is a document with RSLogix 5000 screenshots and examples, so make it easy for a non-expert to configure the Generic Ethernet Module and use their product with Logix.

Have you asked to see if they have such a document ? Would they be willing to loan one of their modules to RA (or an RA network expert, ahem) to have a technote written and some tests done ?

I don't have spare time to try to interpret their documentation but you have the right general idea to use the Generic Module and set up Assemblies whose number, format, and contents match their Assembly definitions.

HI Widelto

I loaded the EDS file into RSLinx and RSNetwork for EIP but when I look on RSlogix500 is see the yellow Traiangle on the ethernet module.

Im not sure if I have to use any code in my program to initiate the connection between the L32E and the GW-7472 gateway, as mentioned I am not an expert with AB.

I have attached a screen shot of the hardware to see if anyone has any ideas.

hardware.jpg

Hi Ken