Starting a project using SCADA HMI and Beckhoff CX1010.

Jeancg

I'm starting a new project HMI on the company where I work, where I develop modules for system events, plotting graphs, trends, and persistence of data in the database, I use Beckhoff PLCs cx1010 and I intend to make use of the protocol for ADS make communication with my PLC HMI.

I would like the opinion of more experienced users of the forum on which technology should I use to develop my software.

I am a Java developer, but searching the Internet on the ADS did not think much about ADS and Java.

DotNet would be better to use this type of project?

I would like the opinion of the forum users who have had contact with this type of protocol and equipment from Beckhoff.

Thank you.

I have absolutely no experience with Beckhoff ADS, but on beckhoffs website about ADS it says:

The TwinCAT interface for programming languages (Visual Basic, Visual C, Delphi, Java ...) does not just offer links to I/O data, but also full access to the methods of the PLC/NC run-time server (start, stop, etc.). Data connection with TwinCAT servers takes place via the message system. This way, Windows program data can be exchanged with all registered TwinCAT servers around the world. ADS data exchange can be managed transparently via different physical transport routes: TCP, UDP, fieldbus, EtherCAT, serial, SOAP. ADS components are available for the following areas of implementation: DLL, OCX, VB Script, J Script, .NET assembly, Java, web service. The TwinCAT ADS monitor acts as a debugging and diagnostic tool. All ADS components are available free-of-charge.
If you go to the site below, then there are some documents regarding ADS:
http://beckhoff.de/english/download/software.htm?id=159876032042892
There are two documents pertaining to ADS with .NET.

Hi JesperMP.

Thanks for the reply.

Beckhoff has a really great support for protocol development with the ADS.