O.T. Resume spelling

bulletin blues

Lifetime Supporting Member
O.T. Another silly resume question. ArchestrA or Archestra? When it comes to the importance of typos' I feel that I'm in the wrong field. Should I type PowerFlex or Powerflex? DeviceNet or Devicenet? Does the H.R. person look at this like I don't know how to use CAPS, or do they look at it like I know what I'm actually talking about? I'm trying to tighten up my resume, and I'm not sure how H.R. approaches this.

Thanks Plcs.net!

Last edited:
Lampshade the intended capitalization by including a ® or ™

ArchestrA®
PowerFlex®

You can type ® by holding down the alt key and entering 0174 on you keypad. ™ is ALT 0153

MSWord will auto convert (r) to ®

When I interview people for a position in my Department, the first thing I see of them is their resume. I look it over for spelling and, to a point, grammar. I am by no means an expert linguist but glaring mistakes on a document like a resume should be corrected before submission--because the resume leaves SOME kind of impression.

There are too many programs like Excel that spell check for you so mistakes in spelling are nearly unforgiveable. As far as vendor-specifics like you mentioned, that company's website will spell it correctly so the author should do his legwork before sending a poorly spelled, poorly-stated resume.

Take the time to send a good resume so someone else will spend the time considering an interview.

But, of course, that wasn't a resume. (Don't know how to type the little thingy above the e's, I know it's an Alt something but I don't even know which it is.) "Rèsumè" - thanks to a little Goggling.

But, with employers looking at prospective applicant's online presence, it might be better to use care, at least in anything to do with scholarly submission or technical applications, possibly like here.