dumb questions from a newb

wrath

Hi everyone, first post. My story is I am a machine operator in manufacturing who has basically left with no person to train him any further, and although we do have some books, they stick to very basic setup and operation.

I have some questions that may seem quite ignorant and newbie, but I would appreciate any and all help I can get as I try to increase my understanding of the machines I am running.

First question is about Omrons....sorting machines

Does the cam positioner trigger the function when a fault is signaled at that degree? or does it send the information to the PLC which deals with signaling the function to occur? How do these two items work together?

Bonus question for those using Omron software etc....when I set expressions/judge.......where does the NG result go first...plc or cam positioner? How would I change which output is used to react to judge numbers 0-31? Older cam positioner with 8 outputs.

Thanks to anyone who wants to help, I am just trying to educate myself a little better.

Last edited:
BTW, I clearly see I am out of my league here, and I have no intention of trying to be a "regular" who asks simplistic and annoying questions on a daily basis.

Aside from anyone willing to answer some pretty basic questions, which I would be thankful for, I would also appreciate any thoughts on other sites my more basic questions would be more inline with the discussions.

It's not a bad question, it's just that it is so specific - Omron, used on sorting machines, with a specific part - a cam positioner - that a person with that specific level of experience may not be online to see your question quickly. If it were a more general question about Omron then more may be able to help. I'm sorry but I am not really knowledgable about Omrons in general so I can't even come close to helping.

Welcome though. I hope someone can give useful help soon. Be patient.