PLC MOV Instructions

dronai

I am a PLC student, and very experienced Electrician. For electrical maintenance type work, how far do I need to go into the programming of PLC's. Would I use the MOV Instructions, or Shift Register ?

I am looking at a possible employment in an Airport baggage conveyor system maintenance department. I would be assisting in PM, and troubleshooting, which includes the PLC.

Ok good, so those are considered basic.

How much programming does a field Electrician need to know ?

I would think that you need to evaluate if the basic commands are executing, and maybe know how to Force an action. Any other thoughts.

Our site host, Phil Melore has also put together some good training material. Follow the links at the very top of the forum page.

Also one of our distinguished colleagues, Ron Beaufort has put together some online tutorials and youtube videos. Ron also runs one of the best PLC schools in the country. Go to his website http://www.ronbeaufort.com and find the sample lessons link on the left hand side. There you will find the various tutorials and youtube videos. Take a look at his training course offerings while you are there.

Our site host, Phil Melore has also put together some good training material. Follow the links at the very top of the forum page.

Also one of our distinguished colleagues, Ron Beaufort has put together some online tutorials and youtube videos. Ron also runs one of the best PLC schools in the country. Go to his website http://www.ronbeaufort.com and find the sample lessons link on the left hand side. There you will find the various tutorials and youtube videos. Take a look at his training course offerings while you are there.

I already purchased all of Phil's books,and Lab. Really good training, and easy to understand.

I was just wondering how far I would need to go into the programming, just to use it as a maintenance Electrician.