Rate of flow

Patrick

Lifetime Supporting Member
I am trying to monitor the rate of flow of a dry product by weighting it in a scale bucket. I understand that the formula for product flow is 1 hour * set point / seconds per weighted bucket. So to get a better and smother valve if I take 10 samples I would increase the formula to 10 hours instead of 1 hour. Is this correct?
36000000*7/(bw1+bw2+bw3+bw4+bw5+bw6+bw7+bw8+bw9+bw10)=flow rate.
I’m not an engineer; I’m a mechanic turn electrician turn programmer. That makes me very dangerous. A programmer with tools.
Thanks Pat
PS this is a compact controller L32E

Yes, you should get a smoother value (not "valve") if you calculate the mass flow from the weight of 10 buckets divided by the time for 10 buckets to flow past.

Nobody can answer your specifics because you don't define your variables, with UNITS. What is "setpoint"? Is bw1 the first bucket weight in lbm? Where does the 7 come from? No. of days in a week? If so, it would go in a formula as multiplier (7 day/wk). What does "36000000" represent? Is it related to conversion factor (3600 sec/hr) or maybe (3.6E6 ms/hr x 10)? What units do you want your flowrate in? lbm/wk?

I suggest you get a 1st year Physics book from the library and read the first few chapters on unit conversions, or try the web (wikipedia). In Physics and Engineering classes, if you give an answer on a test as "13.242" and the correct answer is "13.242 m/s", the professor usually writes "no units!, assumed furlongs/fortnight" and marks your answer wrong (I did). Do units matter? A very expensive spacecraft crashed into Mars several years ago and the cause was traced to "no units stated". A contractor reported the thrust value in Newtons, but NASA assumed the units were "lbf". Don't even get me started on the junk units used in the U.S. (BTU, lbm, lbf, ISP in "sec").

Do units matter? A contractor reported the thrust value in Newtons, but NASA assumed the units were "lbf".