Prolific use of --[AFI]--

iraiam

Some of the code I see has a notable amount of "Always False Instructions" where the ladders had been modified at some point and then the --[AFI]-- was just left in, along with the rest of the rung(s) that are now always false.

I am not a programmer, but I was taught to run a tighter ship than that. If the rung is no longer used or needed it should be deleted and save memory and processor cycles, not to mention making the code much cleaner and easier to follow.

It's not a method I follow, but I can understand the rationale behind preserving the original state of the program for reference. This is especially true if a good archive is kept and rung/page comments tell you which user made the change and when.

When I have multiple programmers working on a project and we need to add temporary or test code, we use BOOL tags with our initials. The rule is that you remove the tags with your name, just like you would remove your physical locks, before you leave the project. We don't always follow this rule perfectly, but it's a step in the right direction if you don't have a formal version control procedure.

I agree, or, if left it there intentionally, must accompany with comments. That will be the least you can do for who ever take over.

Some of the code I see has a notable amount of "Always False Instructions" where the ladders had been modified at some point and then the --[AFI]-- was just left in, along with the rest of the rung(s) that are now always false.

I am not a programmer, but I was taught to run a tighter ship than that. If the rung is no longer used or needed it should be deleted and save memory and processor cycles, not to mention making the code much cleaner and easier to follow.