RS Networks for devicenet

srv

Hi all,

I am new in Devicenet and AB's VFD,Now i am iam in a trouble with a project,One of our existing VFD in devicenet network has a problem,it is not communicating with entire network and there is some LED fault indication in devicenet adaptor module ( 20-COM-D) as follows,

PORT-Flashing red

MOD status- flashing green

STS( VFD) flashing red

And VFD is in tripped condition with a alarm parameter fault 15 which is a Load loss.Please advice me,if We have a devicenet communication adapter (20-COMM-D)with VFD,can it communicate with PLC even if VFD is failure.

The fault code and the state of the DeviceNet adapter are not necessarily related.

A Load Loss fault is something that is specifically configured to detect a failure of the mechanical drivetrain:

http://www.ab.com/support/abdrives/powerflex700/faults/015.html

If a coupler or a belt fails and the motor isn't loaded as heavily as it should be, this fault appears.

It's possible that the Load Loss fault is an old fault that still shows up in the Fault Log. My usual way to troubleshoot this is to intentionally cause a HIM fault by removing the HIM module, then compare the timestamps in the Fault Log.

Regarding the DeviceNet: A flashing red LED on the Network LED indicates that the connection to the DeviceNet master has timed out. This is actually an unusual error for just one device to have.

What is the DeviceNet scanner you are using ? Does it have any fault indications or LEDs that might give you additional information ?