Fault Handling (Allen Bradley)

Hi Folks,

I am an Automation Engineer who has been working on PLCs for 2 years now so I'm still a newbie of sorts. I've worked with mainly Siemens PLC so far but now I've had to work with Allen-Bradley PLC.

Anyway my question is related to Fault Handling. In Siemens we have Organizational Blocks for 'handling' errors. OB's such as OB 121 (Programming Error) and OB 122 ( I/O Access Error) prevent the PLC from going into STOP mode in case a programming error appears or if a module is faulty.

Does Allen-Bradley have any such equivalent?

I know that we can create a routine for the Controller Fault Handler to skip the part of code that creates a major fault but is there any way to do this without the PLC going into Stop Mode?

Regards,
Boris

Last edited:
I know that we can create a routine for the Controller Fault Handler to skip the part of code that creates a major fault but is there any way to do this without the PLC going into Stop Mode?
Yes, there are ways. If it is a Minor Error, then you can add logic to correct the error (if it is detected), reset the fault, and continue running. If it is a serious Major Fault (something that the PLC cannot work around), then usually a program Fault Reset will not work. Allen Bradley provides several Fault-Handling examples that come with the programming software.

There are 3 types of fault that an A-B processor will handle.

Obviously if the fault stops the processor's OS working (such as a CPU failure), that would make it 4, but that would be a hardware failure - and can't be trapped.

The 3 types of faults, in order of severity, the processor can handle are....

1. Minor Faults - these are fault "warnings" if you like, and don't stop the processor from continuing to execute the user's program. A typical minor fault is "Battery Low".