What training do i need to know to become a PLC engineer?

plcstu1980

Hi, i'm wanting to become a plc engineer. Ive been using plcs on and off for 5 years now and want to become more professional.

Im currently learning the Siemens PLCs and Beckhoff. How much do i need to know, say e.g. a control system for monitoring a manufacturing plant.

Stu

Learning the logic is important - As you are learning Siemens (I havent learnt Beckhoff) i assume you are learning STL - there are many here who know this well -
the other PLC range to learn is the AB - this will cover most of the industry - from there you need to understand the I/O allocation of the other brands - not all program in STL.
you will also need to have some mechanical knowledge - how the systems work. Analogue and digital systems.
- I hope this helps - find what courses cover these items

Like iant said, learning the logic, and how to use the programming software, and its tools (cross reference, search, etc...), is important. Another skill set that seems to be lacking these days is troubleshooting, including logic, electrical, mechanical, and hydraulic systems.

I also find that being able to trace existing logic and figure out how it works is one large dividing factor between people I would call PLC programmers, and people I would call PLC hackers. Almost anyone can get into a PLC program and make changes, but that alone doesn't make them a programmer.

When I am assigned to new projects the first thing I want to figure out is what hardware will be controlled/interfaced with, and how it all needs to work together. That is a combination of mechanical and hydraulic knowledge, along with controls experience to know what control hardware will be required.

Stu,

If you are learning PLC's, if you have the money or your employer can afford it, I would recommend you go on the available training courses, especially for Siemens.