Subroutines

Justin

Hi everybody,

I'm working on a project where I've got to activate a subroutine and then inside the sub is a timer and once the timer is done it goes back to my main program and runs some more code. I'm totally new to the world of PLCs and have no clue how to activate the sub. Any ideas?

Justin

What are you trying to control? The program you've outlined is not the way a PLC typically runs. The PLC continuously executes its program. It doesn't sit in an idle state waiting for something to happen.

You could use a JUMP or MCR instruction to do what you want.

_____
----] [-----| TMR |
| |
|_____|

TMR.DN
---]/[------|Jump to Label|

.. }
.. }
.. }Other Logic
.. }
.. }

---|Label|

You don't necessarily need a subroutine to do it.

I suggest you rethink your program design, however. You appear to be trying to make the PLC's operating system conform with the way a VB program runs.

Justin

The following assumes you are using RSLogix. If you aren't, disregard.

The help files in RSLogix will get you the needed info but here is a nutshell version. When necessary logic is true, end your rung with a JSR instruction. This will cause the subroutine to execute. The first instruction of the first rung of the subroutine should be an SBR. At the end of the last rung of the subroutine, an RET instruction will end the subroutine.

Read the help files inside the RSLogix software for a lot of useful information. Especially as someone new to PLCs, these files could save you some time and aggravation.

Welcome to the dance.

This could get messy

Following on to previous posts, the JSR, or whatever it's called in your case, is an output instruction. Like any other output, it is 'energized' by preceding rung conditions being true. As long as true input conditions prevail, the subroutine will be called every scan. When it is not called, the logic in the the subroutine becomes inert, it's not executed.