I need a furnace startup ladder program

randalo

I am new to ladder programming. Our church has eleven different furnace. I am asking for help in designing a ladder program that will allow spacing between the startup of the furnace. When they all start at the same time our electrical demand charge is extremely high. Can anyone e-mail me a simple ladder program that would have the furnaces start with a minimum of a 5 minutes delay between starts? I am using a Zen programmable relay.

Randalo

Apparently you need a PLC so that you can program a simple cascading timer setup. Automationdirect.com makes a Small PLC that has 6 outputs, and a option module that will provide 8 more. I would reccomend a DL05AR & D0-08TR. (about $150.00 U.S.) (8 ac inputs, and 14 relay outputs).

The 1st furnace would start off your start signal. The start signal would also provide a input to the PLC to start the other 10 furnaces. The 1st output would be timed to go on 5 or 10 seconds later; the 2nd output would go on 5 seconds after the 1st, and so on..

The PLC can be programmed to allow you to adjust your delay time, or time between starts, by holding an input on for the desired amount of time. etc. This would allow you to adjust your start time without the need for a programmer.

You should also program your project so that the furnaces also go off in sequence rather than all at once. This would help minimize the potentaial for a large voltage surge when all the motors all shutdown at one time, possabley causing damage to other equipment in the building.

Thanks for the quick response. The furnaces have independent thermostats so they can start anytime heat is required. However, we don't want any 2 or 3 furnace starting at the same time. Any help you can give with writing program would be appreciated

Randalo

I am only currently programming for PLCs from Automationdirect.com. So any program I write will only be for their PLCs.