How to interact with Allen Bradley PLC Driver on Linux

niraj1234

Hello everyone,
I am a beginner in PLC . I have to write a driver (C/C++) to read/write Allen Bradley PLC tags.

After doing some search on PLC ethernet library I have found two such library.

http://www.novellshareware.com/info/cip-ethernet-library-for-linux.html
http://sourceforge.net/projects/abplc5/files/latest/download

Can some one suggest whether this would work . And from where to start . Any good links or help in this direction would be really helpful .

TIA

Thanks - this was a great suggestion. I was able to compile it and run it for an ARM board without any porting at all. But when I enter in the register addresses it doesn't seem to be finding anything. In the first test that came with the code I have:

char *IP="192.168.0.100\0";
var = "N7:1\0";

It connects to the PLC ok but the console output is:
Reading N7:1
Error : ReadLgxData The particular item referenced could not be found (261:0)

I'm using a MicroLogix 1100.

Any thoughts?

Nevermind - dumb problem. Didn't read the instructions. Was using ReadLgxData when I should've been using ReadPLCData. Now it works great.

Thanks again for the tip - this library is so easy to use. No more headaches trying to port modbus libraries. You really just made my day :)

Can you please post the full code you are using???
I keep getting an error while reading on mine.
Error : ReadPLCData Illegal commmand or format (16:0)

I'm really just using the code examples that came with the library - I've only changed the register address and length. I didn't change anything in the library. I can't post all of the code since there's some proprietary stuff in there (and honestly it woudn't be any better than the example code). But my guess is the problem you're having is with the PLC config, not the code.