New to PLCs; Connecting via RS232 Serial Port

Please pardon my ignorance. I am new to the PLC world. Right out of the box I am experienceing a problem simply coneecting to my "training box" PLC...PLEASE HELP!

Info:

PLC=
AB SLC500/05 - 1747-L551 (OS 1747-OS501)
EtherNet Address 00:00:BC:38:45:93

USB2SER Adaptor=
KeyspanUSB 19H Driver: Ver 3.4

RS Linx=
2.55.00.16 CPR9SR2

Linx driver settings=
Com4
Device: SLC-CH0/Micro/Panelview
Baud:19200
Station:00
Parity:None
Error:CRC
Stop:1
Protocol:Full Duplex

Serenum.sys=
Ver. 5.1.2600.5512

Windows=
WindowsXP Pro 2002 SP3

Computer=
Dell Latitude
Prossesor: i5-2520m CPU 2.5 GHz
2.88 GB Memmory

I have read several of the posts that I was able to find via google. I have made no headway.

When I configure the the RSLinx driver manually the scanning monitor reports "Browsing- node 0 found.....node 1 not found"

If I try to use the auto configure feature I get a "failed to find baud and parity" error.

I have read some material concerning the serenum.sys file causing trouble. I have not been able to determine which version is conclusively the SP2 version. Nor have I been able to find a site where I could download the appropriate version. To be honest I am not even sure that is the problem or the appropriate solution.

I just want to connect to the PLC I can hammer out other problems later.

If I can connect directly to the PLC via ethernet that would work just as well for me. I have had no success on that front either. All of the posts I have read on that subject seem to indicate that I need to make the RS232 connection first and then I can find the IP address for the PLC.

Please help.

What cable are you using between the USB adapter and the SLC. It should be a
null-modem cable.

Pin 2 to 3
Pin 3 to 2
Pin 5 to 5

The serenum.sys issue only affects the DH-485 drivers as far as I know (not the DF1 driver).