Theory vs Practice

Tom Jenkins

Lifetime Supporting Member
Among other things (most of which I'll never confess to!) I'm an Adjunct Professor at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. I was inspired to solicit some opinions from the forum by this thread:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=70375

The basic question is the appropriate balance between theory and practice in the standard four year curriculum. For example, the graduating engineers at UW are required to know calculus (which I haven't used in 25 years at least) but are not able to read or create engineering drawings (which I have to do every week).

So, the question is, what is the proper balance between theory and practice for the engineering student. I'm interested in opinions from the forum participants. I'm interested in this from BOTH the perspective of long term career growth as well as day-1 productivity.

1) I don't want this to be just engineer bashing - we can start another thread for that.

2) I don't want this to be just technician and mechanic bashing - we can start another thread for that too!

I'll withhold my opinion for a couple of days to avoid pre-prejudicing the group, but I promise I'll give my perspective.

I think that most engineering colleges teach too much theory, and have too little hands-on training. There are some schools which do focus on the practical side. These are usually engineering schools with "Techincal" in their name. For example, on the third job I had after receiveing a 4-year BS degree in engineering school from a well-known state university, my boss knew how to do things that I never heard of, much less had training in: how to test motors, what kind of oil to put in transformers, how to wire up motor starters, how to trouble-shoot circuits. Every time he showed me something, I would ask "how did you ever learn that". His answer: "in engineering school at Xxxxxx Tech, where else?"