Best way to start

Snow Dog

After reading the posts here over the past month, I finally decided to ask something. I am teaching myself programing at work (we use AB's using RSLogix500), and I want to know what the first thing some of you guys do. My boss (a self taught electrician), says to start with the I/O's and go from there. I was wondering if this is how some of y'all start, and if not what other ways do you get it going.

Look at the top of the page here and "Learn PLCs", order the books or videos, read the RSLogix help files (bad as they can be), go online and WATCH the program work, etc. I'm self taught also and these last two items are what I did to learn. Of course, later I found out about this site.

Be careful what you DO before you learn WHAT to do.

Good Luck

Well, you could start by programming the PLC to operate 16 overhead cranes. The cranes, of course, would be responsible for moving millions of dollars worth of equipment, weighing hundreds of tons, at high speeds. The dozens of people milling about under those cranes would be happy to know that you're on the job!

Or, you could start small. Somewhere on this board, you can find suggestions for a "traffic light" project.

I think "start with the I/O's" was intended to guide you during the testing phase of your project. But, it could also apply to programming. The simplest thing to do is to set up an input that turns on an output (an expensive light switch simulator). That'll teach you about addressing, and online monitoring.

AK

akreel said:
Or, you could start small. Somewhere on this board, you can find suggestions for a "traffic light" project.

Or better yet, ask for an example of a traffic light program!

I dare you to...

hehe :)

John

Snow Dog said:
After reading the posts here over the past month, I finally decided to ask something. I am teaching myself programing at work (we use AB's using RSLogix500), and I want to know what the first thing some of you guys do.