SLC 500 Remap I/O Possible?

DmpTheKiller

I have a problem with an SLC 500 1747-L40A and a quick / temporary solution would be to remap an apparently damaged output to a different output point...

Is that even possible (in runtime)??? The module is mounted with a 1747 DTAM... Please consider I'm no expert in SLC or any PLC platform, but I certainly understand the whole system and have dealed with this module a couple of weeks already...

If not possible in runtime, what would be the easiest way of doing this??? Consider I don't have the development tools at hand because this was a total random / last minute problem that occurred in a client's plant...

Thanks a lot!!!

Depending on how it was programmed, it could be really easy or somewhat more involved. Usually it's good programming practice to use inputs and outputs (real I/O) only once in the program. So to change a "bad" out should only require one change in the program. Of course you have to rewire the output to another point.

But in your case, the L40A doesn't support online programming. The change would have to be made in program mode or made and downloaded to the processor.

EDIT: First, you'll need the development tools (RSLogix 500 & RSLinx)

But when you say you have been dealing with it for some time...please explain further. Solid state output points don't go bad and then start working again, but relay outputs can do that. Are you certain that the output point is faulty (not trying to insult, just making sure based on your professed experience with PLCs).