Help

speds02

Hi im new to the forum and to PLCs. I am currently studying to a HNC at college and have a assignment I cant get my head around and was wondering if you could give me a few pointers.

The purpose of the assignment is to produce a report using the specifications below if a manager gave you a budget and the go ahead.

PLC power supply 240v at 50 Hz
No. of relay outputs 24 max rating 1mA each
No. of transistor, triac or thyristor outputs , 0
No. of contact closure inputs , 20
No. of three line proximity devices , 1
No. of analogue inputs , 1 0-10v dc
0 analogue outputs
interface with Rs232c or similar
memory 2k
scan time better than 50ms

has to be IP67 protected with external ambient temp 110'c

close to a high voltage source of magnetic interference and one output drives a contactor to switch a motor of 240v 20A , suggest contactor type and plc be able to control coil directly

I know there are probably lots of similar threads but i have done hours or searching and not done alot of work....o_O

the output max of 1mA seems to be odd as 2A seems to be the norm and protecting to IP67 in a cooled enclosure so operating temp range is met..... HELP PLEASE 🤞🏻

Thanks speds02

hnc assignments seemed to have changed a little recently,
anyhow, a siemens s200 cpu226 ac/dc/rly with i/o expansion module should fit the bill, (should!, check!), as for output rating, if i'm reading that correctly, a 2Amp rating should be about 2000 times able to handle your 1mA spec.

Yes, some of the specifications seem to be "inverted" or just unclear:
1) "No. of relay outputs 24 max rating 1mA each"
Should that be
"No. of relay outputs 24 max, with a minimum rating of 1mA each"? PLC relay outputs always have a much higher rating than 1mA.