Question about current security stance of PLCs

electronbee

Referencing, Stuxnet, and the FBI on how smart-power meters can be hacked... I am curious as to what type of security is in place in regards to PLCs and the like. Part of the reason for me to ask this question is that as a beginner, I am not as familiar with the terminology within the industrial controller segment. I do know how to program one now, and I can even get PeakHMI to work! (y)

But, as I am working on this research paper for my senior design project I want to address security concerns. I don't need a detailed explanation as I'd rather have a web link to online articles or some references so that I can read up on it myself.

Most importantly though, which terms to search by. Everything I know is within the realm of computers: TCP/IP, web, Windows, etc.

Thanks in advance!

I, for one, have no knowledge of any organized efforts to implement security against outside hacking into PLCs. I've been working in the industry for many years and, until Stuxnet, I was not aware of any attempts at hacking. But then again, I wouldn't expect it, either. PLCs are pretty closed systems with a minimal "WOW" factor should a hacker actually get in and do something. Where is the fun in that?

I think its safe to say that most PLCs are on stand-alone systems that have no connection to the outside world. For these systems we obviously won't be too worried about hacking. On the other hand there are many systems that do have such connections available, but even for those systems, access is typically difficult to obtain. Not only do you need the right programming software, the normal hacking methods for gaining access are not likely to work.