[PROBLEM] No output from pressure sensor

Shafiqson

Hi all,

I'm quite new to PLCs and instrumentation, but somehow I happen to be in responsibility of the instrumentation of a pipe system, involving some water tanks, pumps and different sensors.

I have this pressure sensor I am trying to connect to the analog module of the PLC, but I'm unable to get a decent reading of the output signal from the sensor, even with an amperemeter!

The technical specifications are as follows:

PLC: Mitsubishi FX3U w/ analog module FX2N-8AD
Sensor: DMP 457 (BD Sensors) 0-10 bar @ 4-20 mA

The sensor is connected as thus:

24V+ -> Vs+ [Sensor] Vs- -> I+ [PLC] COM -> 24V-
GND on the sensor is connected to the same ground as the analog module.

Could someone help out??

Hi and welcome to the forum!

If it is a 2-wire sensor, you must be sure to have a 24VDC driving source in the loop. Some AI-cards has this option built-in (I don't know about Mitsub).

Kalle

Like Kalle mentioned, since it is a 2 wire sensor, and the analog input channel is passive, you have to power the loop with an external 24VDC.
From the +24VDC of the Power Supply, go to the + of the sensor and from the sensor -, go to the + of the analog input channel and connect the - from the analog input channel to the - of the Power Supply.

You can also do the wiring according to the analog input manual. You will get the same results.
In any case you can see that you must power the current loop with 24VDC.

FX2N-8AD.jpg

It sounds like you already have a 24Vdc power supply, from your description of the wiring:

24V+ -> Vs+ [Sensor] Vs- -> I+ [PLC] COM -> 24V-

I think you might be missing the shorting link between Vx+ and Ix+ (where x is channel number) as mentioned by the *3 note

312w8j4.jpg

33xea6o.jpg

Thanks for the replies everyone!

Things I forgot to mention:

i) I have an external 24V supply powering the sensor.

ii) The V+ and I+ terminals are shorted, as indicated by the manual.