Pic16f84

userxyz

skuller

I know, it's not really the right place to ask this, but I have a problem with a microcontroller. I program S7-300 CPU's and I've got a big project for the moment. I work in the carpet industry (www.awe.be) and we are going to change the whole color kitchen by 1 CPU S7-300 with 2 ET200 stations on a profibus network. No more matrix for selecting the right tank, but controlled from the machine. Also there will ben an OP17 for visualize the measurement of the flowmeters.

The electronic boards for measuring the level of the paint in the screen have te be changed also. They're to old and we can't order the solid state relais that are used on the boards, to old.
The level sensing part of the paint in the screen is measured with a current. If the current is below 20mA, the pump doesn't run, this for no longer then 20 secs or there will be an alarm. If the current is above 20mA the pump will run. When the current is above 80mA, there will be an alarm ( sensor to ground = no isolation ).
For that part I had the Idea to make new electronic boards with
PIC16F877 microcontroller, or with a PIC16F84 and some Opamps.
Is there anybody who has experience with microcontrollers, because this is my problem:
The PIC16F84:
I can use timers, make a subroutine for a counter, can use AND, OR functions, etc...
But, can I SET a bit, I mean: for example, press once on a button and a bit is high and stays high, press another time and it's low again, (pulsrelais). If I can't do that, then I have to use flipflops, and I don't like that :)
How about the current, can I do that is some way ?

Please HELP

The electronic boards for measuring the level of the paint in the screen have te be changed also. They're to old and we can't order the solid state relais that are used on the boards, to old.

Hummm!! Hard to get ...

How about you go and tell your boss you are going to build a device which NOWHERE in the whole world you can get of the shelf.