New to PLCs need help

bertbryant

Im trying to figure out how you guys got a diploma or cert. I cant seem to find a school that offers it online. Im trying to further my self in the electrical field that i currently work in and plcs are one of the top to do things as is going to become a est3 programmer. Im sure that somebody else has asked this before but any information would be great. Thanks for helping me. Bert

Don't ask me, I never got a diploma or a cert. I'm just an old electrician that hacked my way into a job.

That said, having an electrical background is an excellent way to get into the business. Plus, most maintenance guys won't mess with one of their own. And if need be, I can still be the electrician. :)

In this business, you will find that ability trumps education most of the time (basically, if the guy is dumb or lazy, then no amount of paper is going to make up for that).

Back in the day, it mattered less whether you had a degree or not. I worked with a farmer, a draftsman, and of all things, a preacher that were very good programmers.

Nowadays, colleges are beginning to catch up with the industry. But you had better do your homework before signing up at a school. Be sure that it is properly accredited (start here: http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/), and back check any promises as to their placement success stories.

(I got my start after hacking my way into a Series Six PLC one night and fixing it. After they chewed my butt out the next day for pulling that stunt, they gave me the job). That translated into a job starting up Midwest Conveyor equipment at Saturn, which then translated into a job at Saturn.