DeviceLogix and Pico

iknowsomeplc

Anybody is using DeviceLogix functionality with new Distributed I/Os from Rockwell ? Curious to know about the applications where it can be used .Also just wondering for which applications can I use the samll controller-PICO.

IKnowSomePLC

I've proofed out a couple of applications, but as I'm a salesman I don't get to see them in action.

One was the 100-DSA starter auxilary, where they were programmed to turn on an electric linear actuator to open a damper and confirm that it was completely open via a limit switch before they would allow the starter to engage (which drove a powerful fan). They'd do this even if the DeviceNet was offline, because the user put a separate 24 VDC power supply in each bucket.

Another was the CompactBlock I/O, where a customer needed a "medium-speed" counter to position a chain where the pickup was a prox switch on a sprocket. An HSCE card is overkill, and the PLC-5 couldn't keep up with more than about 50 pulses per second. The CompactBlock proved to be able to accurately count a 1 millisecond square wave.... 500 Hz.

I delved a little into the DeviceLogix object model so I know how to dynamically send preset values to timers and counters via DeviceNet explicit messaging, a feature A-B will tell you isn't there. I think DeviceLogix needs to have some limit and comparison functions before it will be more useful... but it's pretty nifty as is. I've thought of a handful of ways it could have improved machines I used to build, mostly by replacing high speed counter modules and allowing crude positioning of screws and chains.

I know the Metro buses here in town run DeviceLogix headlights... a 10 ampere block I/O module strobes the headlights at a 50% duty cycle for daytime use, then full on at night.

Ken,