Field Service is not for me

eastkodakguy

I am sorry guys I need to vent. I hate to be the guy who is switching jobs again but I have been living in a hotel room for almost 3 months putting in 70+ hours a week without a day off, on top of all that I cannot get any support from my company. If anyone knows of any job openings in the controls or maintenance field. I have extensive experience with PLC's HMI,s Instrumentation, servos, and Vfd's I would like to move to the Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi area. please feel free to email me at [email protected]
I spend all day at work then 2-3 hours a night looking for jobs online. Maybe I am just fustrated. Anywhoo thanks for listening

Dallas

Dallas, I hear you, brother. You're in exactly the same spot I was in about 6 years ago. I was working all day and all night, getting pulled from job to job, going in to fix other people's mistakes.... I was sleeping in MCC rooms and eating in truck stops and forgetting what my girlfriend looked like.

Field Service STINKS !

But it wasn't so bad for the other guy I traveled with. He'd embraced it, mellowed out a little. The Company paid for his truck and 5th wheel, and he and his wife travelled from jobsite to jobsite, spending about 3-6 months at each one. When he crossed the border, he looked cheerily at the Customs agent and said "going fishing."

I wish I'd mellowed out more when I was working in the field. Now I'm in an office, and I never get to go out into factories or jobsites. My steel-toed boots have dust on them, instead of dirt. I can't remember the last time I flirted with a waitress at a truck stop or smoked a cigarette with the 3rd shift millwrights.

Learn as much as you can from the situations you get placed into. DEMAND overtime. Give yourself a safety pep-talk every morning and wear those uncomfortable eyeshields. Think about getting up tomorrow every time you pop the defeater lever on an MCC bucket.