RSNetworx for DeviceNet

wpyles

I am working on installing equipment that we just bought from auction. It is using a SLC5/05 with a 1747-SDN and 1 analog input card.

It then is using several "Modicon 170 LNT 710 00 DeviceNet Communication Adapter for Modicon TSX Momentum" with various bases.

When i look at the first four nodes on RSNetworx it shows them as 01-04 but the nodes physically have the dip switches set to 16,17,18,19.

I am new to devicenet and am wondering why the difference in the physical address on the communications adapter vs. the virtual address of the scanner?

There's no magical offset or translation; Node Numbers are sometimes called MAC ID's but they are always just numbers between 0 and 63.

When you say "look at the first four nodes on RSNetworx", are you looking at a Scanlist that you've uploaded from the 1747-SDN, or are you looking at a Network Layout that you've uploaded from the network ?

I'm thinking that either you're mistaking a memory offset address for a Node Number, or that the offline file or saved file doesn't match the actual machine network.

Try just doing a browse in RSLinx Classic using the DeviceNet driver. That will tell you what node numbers the Modicon adapters are actually using when they communicate on the network.

I was looking at a network layout that i recieved from the company we bought the equipment from. I used RSLinx as you suggested and the Node Numbers match. I can only assume that the file i was given was incorrect. I will upload the scan list from the 1747-sdn.

Thanks!

You're on the right track.

The very first thing you want to do is *upload* the scanlist from the 1747-SDN as well as any parameters that are in the Modicon adapters.

Modular I/O adapters typically have some sort of mapping or configuration options that allow you to make sense of the various blocks of data.

A-B FLEX I/O has a special applet that RSNetworx uses, but Modicon adapters probably are ordinary Parameter-based devices.