Serial communication to CompactLogix 5370

jshiepe

We currently have a scale communicating to a SLC 5/05 over Remote IO (1747-SN). We are going to be changing out the 5/05 with a new CompactLogix 5370 series (1769-L33ER), which does not have an interface for RIO. The scale does have a serial output (9600 baud continuous output, 16 or 18 bytes transmitted in a 10-bit ASCII frame with 1 start bit, 7 data bits, 1 even parity bit, and 1 stop bit).

I've been looking for a quick and dirty way to get the scale communicating to the CompactLogix. Since there is no serial port on the CLogix, I assume the only way would be over Ethernet/IP, so started hunting around for serial to ethernet converters and was advised that the Digi One IAP is the product for the job. I've never worked with one of these before, so just curious if there are other options available or if this is the best way to go.

If the Digi One is the way to go, is the method for bringing the data into the CLogix a MSG instruction? Just looking for a little guidance on the PLC side as I've never interfaced a serial device like this before.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Jeff

We currently have a scale communicating to a SLC 5/05 over Remote IO (1747-SN). We are going to be changing out the 5/05 with a new CompactLogix 5370 series (1769-L33ER), which does not have an interface for RIO. The scale does have a serial output (9600 baud continuous output, 16 or 18 bytes transmitted in a 10-bit ASCII frame with 1 start bit, 7 data bits, 1 even parity bit, and 1 stop bit).