Wind Generator Project ? Any other renewable energy ideas ?

PLCKeef

Hi all
I'm designing a new student project and I want to link it to renewable energy.
I am thinking a wind Generator controller , I'm no expert in wind generators , but it's just a project with a bit of an interesting practical theme.

Inputs
Anemometer - Analog wind speed
Generator Temp - Analog generator Temperature
Wind Direction - Analog wind direction.
Yaw - analog yaw position of generator

Outputs
Yaw drive - position control of generator

My rough ideas for the project
Start up and shutdown procedure.
The students control the yaw postion of the generator in relation to the wind ditrection.(postion control)
If the wind speed is too high for a certain period , we can then drive the generator to a 90deg postion to the wind direction ?
If the generator overheats we have a shutdown procedure.

Am I on the right track ?

Any other renewble energy ideas ?
I have a postion control setup that I can use to simulate the yaw postion , so they can see it in action , not an actual wind generator , but it will do.

Then you need to add synchronisation, opening and closing with mains of a circuit breaker, load/frequency control.

How about a switching system? 3 power feeds in, 3 switchboards to feed, each switchboard with a bus tie and wrap around circuit breakers - basically each feed can supply 1 1/2 switchboards so if power is lost to one - open the bus tie and close the wrap arounds.
Lots of interlocking, power monitor relays to make sure power is available at the wrap arounds, then you have to consider what to do if only 1 power suppl;y is available - only enough power for 1 1/23 switchboards.
Interesting job - I have done several of these.
And then to add a degree of difficulty hard wired interlocking on everything as well. Good training for controls people not just PLC programmers - PLC programmers should be good controls people anyway in my view.